The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Published:
Penguin Publishing Group 2013
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
ISBN:
9781101622742
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary "The Boys of '36"For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest.From the Trade Paperback edition.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Daniel James Brown. (2013). The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Daniel James Brown. 2013. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Daniel James Brown, The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Penguin Publishing Group, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Daniel James Brown. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Penguin Publishing Group, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
More Details
Street Date:
06/04/2013
Language:
English
ASIN:
B00AEBETU2
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 8.4, 27 Points
Lexile measure:
1260
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e6bfcbd5-647b-3d44-b179-6a7beb4fea63
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Nov 07, 2013 07:22:14
Date Updated:
Apr 22, 2019 23:59:57
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 23, 2019 00:02:50
Last Metadata Change:
Apr 21, 2019 09:43:56
Last Availability Check:
Apr 23, 2019 00:03:29
Last Availability Change:
Apr 10, 2019 14:52:29

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/24A/6F1/6C/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/24A/6F1/6C/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101622742
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00AEBETU2
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101622742
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Daniel James Brown
title
The Boys in the Boat
dateAdded
2014-03-07T16:51:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=1154606
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Marmot Library Network (CO)
          • id: 1201
sortTitle
Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
crossRefId
1154606
subtitle
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
id
24a6f16c-3171-4dae-951f-dc41d952fe19
starRating
4.4

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: BoysintheBoatNineAmericansandTheirEpi9781101622742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 18460557
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101622742
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/04/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/boys-in-the-24a6f1?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BoysintheBoatNineAmericansandTheirEpi9781101622742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00AEBETU2
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/04/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/boys-in-the-24a6f1?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BoysintheBoatNineAmericansandTheirEpi9781101622742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101622742
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/04/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/boys-in-the-24a6f1?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: us history
      • value: boat
      • value: books for boys
      • value: sport
      • value: american history
      • value: WWII
      • value: sports
      • value: Nazism
      • value: Berlin
      • value: gifts for dad
      • value: Best books
      • value: daniel james brown
      • value: gifts for history buffs
      • value: books for men
      • value: fathers day books
      • value: fathers day gifts
      • value: books for dad
      • value: books best sellers
      • value: gifts for him
      • value: non fiction best sellers
      • value: the boys in the boat
      • value: nonfiction best sellers
      • value: top biographies
      • value: best books for men
      • value: history gifts for men
      • value: best sellers on amazon books
      • value: gifts for husband
      • value: father's day gift ideas
      • value: books best sellers nonfiction
      • value: gifts for boyfriend
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Brown, Daniel James
      • name: Daniel James Brown
imprint
Penguin Books
publishDate
2013-06-04T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
8.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Boys in the Boat
fullDescription
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary "The Boys of '36"
For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.
It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys' own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man's personal quest.
From the Trade Paperback edition.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 7
popularity
11620
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1ByAAAAA2r/products/24a6f16c-3171-4dae-951f-dc41d952fe19/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
24a6f16c-3171-4dae-951f-dc41d952fe19
starRating
4.4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/24A/6F1/6C/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/24A/6F1/6C/{24A6F16C-3171-4DAE-951F-DC41D952FE19}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: History
      • value: Sports & Recreations
      • value: Nonfiction
publishDateText
06/04/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in...

sortTitle
Boys in the Boat Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
crossRefId
1154606
awards
      • source: Notable Books Council
      • value: Notable Books for Adults
      • source: The New York Times
      • value: The New York Times Best Seller List
subtitle
Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group