Yellow: race in America beyond black and white

Book Cover
Publisher:
BasicBooks,
Pub. Date:
2003.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and other public intellectuals who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, law professor, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the new century.Often provocative and always thoughtful, this book addresses some of the most controversial contemporary issues: discrimination, immigration, diversity, globalization, and the mixed-race movement, introducing the example of Asian Americans to shed new light on the current debates. Combining personal anecdotes, social-science research, legal cases, history, and original journalistic reporting, Wu discusses damaging Asian American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work challenges us to make good on our great democratic experiment.
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
046500640
9780465006403
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9e52f379-81eb-1b9f-9693-bb13373e61f8
Grouping Title yellow race in america beyond black and white
Grouping Author wu frank h
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-06 01:10:46AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 06:07:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Wu, Frank H., 1967-
author_display Wu, Frank H
available_at_ccu Colorado Christian University
detailed_location_ccu CCU Circulating Books (Lower Level)
display_description Writing in the tradition of W.E.B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.
format_category_ccu Books
format_ccu Book
id 9e52f379-81eb-1b9f-9693-bb13373e61f8
isbn 046500640, 9780465006403
item_details ils:.b31190248|.i59824165|CCU Circulating Books (Lower Level)|E 184 .O6 W84 2003|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ccbk||
itype_ccu Book
last_indexed 2018-09-25T12:07:35.278Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_ccu E 184 .O6 W84 2003
owning_library_ccu Colorado Christian University
owning_location_ccu Colorado Christian University
primary_isbn 046500640
publishDate 2003
record_details ils:.b31190248|Book|Books||English|BasicBooks,|2003.|400 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_ccu
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b31190248 .i59824165 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 80, 76, 77, 78, 79
subject_facet Asian Americans -- Civil rights, Asian Americans -- Race identity, Asian Americans -- Social conditions, Race relations, United States, United States -- Race relations
title_display Yellow : race in America beyond black and white
title_full Yellow : race in America beyond black and white / Frank H. Wu
title_short Yellow :
title_sub race in America beyond black and white
topic_facet Asian Americans, Civil rights, Race identity, Race relations, Social conditions