The weight of ink: a novel

Book Cover
Publisher:
HMH Books
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind.
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780544866461
9781681686325
9780544866676
9781681686318
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID56542a14-3fb9-e6b0-ad81-1152039d843c
Grouping Titleweight of ink
Grouping Authorkadish rachel
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-12 19:13:33PM
Last Indexed2019-11-12 19:15:24PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2James, Corrie,
James, Corrie.
authorKadish, Rachel.
author2-roleHighBridge Audio (Firm),publisher.
James, Corrie,narrator.
James, Corrie.
hoopla digital.
author_displayRachel Kadish
detailed_location_ccuOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
format_category_ccueBook
format_ccueBook
id56542a14-3fb9-e6b0-ad81-1152039d843c
isbn9780544866461
9780544866676
9781681686318
9781681686325
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12df30Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
Overdrive (CMC):ODN0002854471ODN0002854471Overdrive (CMC)Online Overdrive (CMC)eBookeBook1falsetrueOverdrive (CMC)http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=162&titleID=2854471Available OnlineOverdrive (CMC)
hoopla:MWT11897646Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11897646?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b57248163.i122433348Vail Public Library Audio BooksCD FIC KAD1falsefalseProspector Off Campusvlaud
ils:.b57248163.i118134280SSCL Bud NewCD KADISH1falsefalseProspector Off Campusssbnb
ils:.b54335474.i110147169TELL WPL Adult FictionFIC KADISH1falsefalseIn Transittlwf
ils:.b54335474.i110212393MCPLD Collbran AdultFiction KADISH Rachel1falsefalseIn Transitmpba
ils:.b54335474.i124147380Bemis FictionFICTION KADISH, R1falsefalseOn Shelfbefic
ils:.b54335474.i110394744Crested Butte FictionKadish1falsefalseDue Nov 12, 2019gucfi
ils:.b54335474.i11021240xMCPLD Central FictionFiction KADISH Rachel1falsefalseIn Transitmpmf
ils:.b54335474.i110160125SSCL Bud Adult FictionFIC KADISH1falsefalseOn Hold Shelfssbfi
ils:.b54335474.i117354235Pine River Adult FictionF Kadish1falsefalseOn Shelfpraf
ils:.b54335474.i110206332Pitkin County LibraryFICTION K1145we1falsefalseOn Hold Shelfpc
ils:.b54335474.i110422624EPL FictionF KADISH, RACHEL1falsefalseDue Nov 26, 2019epf
ils:.b54335474.i119765275Basalt FictionF KAD1falsefalseIn Transitbafi
ils:.b54335474.i110235526EVLD Avon Public LibraryFIC KAD1falsefalseOn Shelfeva
ils:.b54335474.i117434024Vail Public Library Fiction BooksFIC KAD1falsefalseIn Transitvlfic
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b23Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b19Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b3Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b12Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b14Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b9Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b17Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b4Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b6Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b18Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b15Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b16Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b7Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b20Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b5Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b35Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b30Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b33Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b8Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b36Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b27Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
last_indexed2019-11-13T02:15:24.302Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_ccuOnline OverDrive
owning_library_ccuColorado Christian University Online
owning_location_ccuOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780544866461
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:3787bf13-93ec-4eb0-ba1c-73863fcf12dfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHighBridge2017
Overdrive (CMC):ODN0002854471eBookeBookEnglish2017.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11897646eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (23hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b57248163Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge Audio, [2017]19 audio discs (23.5 hr.) ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:.b54335474BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.567 pages ; 24 cm
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845beBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_ccu
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b20Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Electronic books
England -- London
FICTION -- General
FICTION -- Historical
FICTION -- Jewish
FICTION -- Literary
Fiction
Historical fiction
Jewish fiction
Jewish women
Jewish women -- Fiction
Judaism -- Manuscripts
Judaism -- Manuscripts -- Fiction
Literature
London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 17th century -- Fiction
Manners and customs
Novels
Religious fiction
Scribes, Jewish
Scribes, Jewish -- Fiction
Sound recordings
Women historians
Women historians -- Fiction
title_displayThe weight of ink
title_fullThe Weight of Ink
The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink : a novel / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink [electronic resource] / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink [electronic resource]. Rachel Kadish
title_shortThe weight of ink
title_suba novel
topic_facetFICTION
Fiction
General
Historical
Historical Fiction
Jewish
Jewish women
Judaism
Literary
Literature
Manners and customs
Manuscripts
Scribes, Jewish
Social life and customs
Women historians