Thought contagion: how belief spreads through society

Book Cover
Publisher:
BasicBooks,
Pub. Date:
[1996]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
Fans of Douglas Hofstadter, Daniel Bennet, and Richard Dawkins (as well as science buffs and readers of Wired Magazine ) will revel in Aaron Lynch's groundbreaking examination of memetics--the new study of how ideas and beliefs spread. What characterizes a meme is its capacity for displacing rival ideas and beliefs in an evolutionary drama that determines and changes the way people think. Exactly how do ideas spread, and what are the factors that make them genuine thought contagions? Why, for instance, do some beliefs spread throughout society, while others dwindle to extinction? What drives those intensely held beliefs that spawn ideological and political debates such as views on abortion and opinions about sex and sexuality?By drawing on examples from everyday life, Lynch develops a conceptual basis for understanding memetics. Memes evolve by natural selection in a process similar to that of Genes in evolutionary biology. What makes an idea a potent meme is how effectively it out-propagates other ideas. In memetic evolution, the "fittest ideas" are not always the truest or themost helpful, but the ones best at self replication.Thus, crash diets spread not because of lasting benefit, but by alternating episodes of dramatic weight loss and slow regain. Each sudden thinning provokes onlookers to ask, "How did you do it?" thereby manipulating them to experiment with the diet and in turn, spread it again. The faster the pounds return, the more often these people enter that disseminating phase, all of which favors outbreaks of the most pathogenic diets. Like a software virus traveling on the Internet or a flu strain passing through a city, thought contagions proliferate by programming for their own propagation. Lynch argues that certain beliefs spread like viruses and evolve like microbes, as mutant strains vie for more adherents and more hosts. In its most revolutionary aspect, memetics asks not how people accumulate ideas, but how ideas accumulate people. Readers of this intriguing theory will be amazed to discover that many popular beliefs about family, sex, politics, religion, health, and war have succeeded by their "fitness" as thought contagions.
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780465084678
9780465084661
Lexile measure:
1280L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0a0f85e8-d31b-2219-e4c3-908aa1d6e411
Full title thought contagion how belief spreads through society
Author lynch aaron
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-04-05 01:14:43AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-21 06:07:00AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lynch, Aaron.
author_display Lynch, Aaron
available_at_ccu Colorado Christian University
detailed_location_ccu CCU Circulating Books (Lower Level)
display_description
format_category_ccu Books
format_ccu Book
id 0a0f85e8-d31b-2219-e4c3-908aa1d6e411
isbn 9780465084661, 9780465084678
item_details ils:.b30672533|.i59045966|CCU Circulating Books (Lower Level)|HM 251 L95 1996|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ccbk||
itype_ccu Book
last_indexed 2018-06-21T12:07:00.801Z
lexile_score 1280
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_ccu HM 251 L95 1996
owning_library_ccu Colorado Christian University
owning_location_ccu Colorado Christian University
primary_isbn 9780465084678
publishDate 1996
record_details ils:.b30672533|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|BasicBooks,|[1996]|xi, 192 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_ccu
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b30672533 .i59045966 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 80, 76, 77, 78, 79
subject_facet Contagion (Social psychology), Kennisoverdracht, Memetics, Meningen, Social psychology
title_display Thought contagion : how belief spreads through society
title_full Thought contagion : how belief spreads through society / Aaron Lynch
title_short Thought contagion :
title_sub how belief spreads through society
topic_facet Contagion (Social psychology), Kennisoverdracht, Memetics, Meningen, Social psychology